MHLA Announces New 2020-2021 Board of Directors

MHLA Announces New 2020-2021 Board of Directors

WAILUKU, MAUI – On September 23, 2020 Maui Hotel & Lodging Association (MHLA) announced their 2020-2021 Board of Directors during part one of two webinars held as their modified annual meeting.

The kick-off for the meeting began with a lengthy discussion about the October 15 reopening date with none other than Lieutenant Governor Josh Green, who spoke for 45 minutes despite recovering from COVID-19 himself after testing positive for it two weeks ago.

“Much mahalo to the LG for the first-hand information that he provided to our members today,” said MHLA Executive Director Rod Antone. “One of the benefits of being a member of the MHLA is the communication we have established with our elected leaders and local community. Having the Lieutenant Governor Green explain the reopening plan and answering questions himself has our members more confident in the state’s plan and how it will be executed.”

“The MHLA stands ready to do our part to make re-opening work. We all need to do our part, from the visitor industry, to government, to each member of our community.”

Following the Lieutenant Governor’s portion of the meeting, the MHLA board members for the association were inducted online. The MHLA board is made up of representatives of the accommodations industry and the allied business members who work with them.

The 2020-2021 Board members are:

  • Bill Countryman, Marriott’s Maui Ocean Club
  • Michael Cuthbertson, Destination Residences Hawaii
  • Dean Duque - Board Treasurer, First Hawaii Bank
  • Fred Findlen, Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa
  • Mufi Hanneman, Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association
  • Diane Haynes-Woodburn, Haynes Publishing Group
  • Michael Jokovich, Andaz Maui at Wailea Resort
  • Gregg Lundberg, Westin Maui Resort & Spa
  • Gregg Nelson, Napili Kai Beach Resort
  • Ryan Nobriga, Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
  • Greg Peros, Maui Beach Hotel
  • Aaron Placourakis, Tri Star Restaurant Group
  • Michael Pye, Board Chairman, Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
  • Sharon Suzuki, Hawaiian Electric
  • Angela Vento - Board Vice Chair, Wailea Beach Resort, Marriott Maui
  • Mike White, Ka’anapali Beach Hotel
  • Tetsuji Yamazaki, Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

The Maui Hotel & Lodging Association is a nonprofit organization founded in 1987 to advocate for the Visitor Industry. The organization also provides educational opportunities and scholarships and gives back to the community via the annual Visitor Industry Charity Walk, Excellence in Education Golf Tournament and Na Kupuna Dinner.

For additional information please contact us.

Become a Member Today!

Benefit from successful lobbying, quarterly mixers, participation in active advisory councils, oversight of state and county legislation that may affect your business, and our weekly newsletter.

Join Now Contact Us